News World

UK removed Pakistan, Turkey and 6 others from red travel list

UK red travel list pakistan
Source: Pixabay

UPDATE: Pakistan, Turkey and Maldives will be removed from UK’s red travel list from September 22, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced on Friday.

“We’ll also be introducing a new simplified system for international travel from Mon 4 Oct, replacing the current approach with a single red list and simplified measures for the rest of the world — striking the right balance to manage the public health risk as No.1 priority,” he added.

The current traffic light system of red, amber, and green countries will be phased out as part of the government’s plans to overhaul international travel.

Instead, there will be only a red list, with all other countries considered “clear” for travel.

UK’s Secretary of State for Transport shared the news from his Twitter handle.

The British High Commissioner to Pakistan Mr. Chritian Turner also took to the twitter to share the news.


According to travel experts, the amber list will be merged into the green list, known as the “rest of the world,” while the red list will be drastically reduced.

Turkey, Egypt, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Oman, Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Kenya expected to be removed from UK’s red travel list.

According to an industry expert, new travel lists will be called ‘Red and ROW.’

“Bye bye green and amber, and hello RED and ROW – red-list and rest of the world. Effective 4th Oct. Pre-departure tests will not be needed if you’re double-jabbed. PCR tests are to continue until near end of Oct, then replaced by antigen, to give test providers time to scale up,” tweeted Charles, an industry expert.

Which countries are on UK’s red list?

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Georgia
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Indonesia
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Réunion
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

About the author

Brendan Taylor

Brendan Taylor was a TV news producer for 5 and a half years. He is an experienced writer. Brendan covers Breaking News at Insider Paper.

Daily Newsletter