News Tech and Science

Users won’t be able to receive or send messages if they did not accept WhatsApp’s new privacy policy

WhatsApp privacy policy changes receive and send messages

WhatsApp recently explained that if users do not accept the new privacy policy changes then they will be able to receive calls and notifications only for a few weeks. While they will be unable to receive or send messages from the app. The new policy will go into effect on May 15, 2021.

WhatsApp revealed its privacy policy changes

TechCrunch reviewed an email that WhatsApp sent to one of its merchant partners. The company revealed that it will gradually ask users to agree with new privacy policy changes over the coming weeks.

“If they still don’t accept the terms, “for a short time, these users will be able to receive calls and notifications, but will not be able to read or send messages from the app,” the company wrote in a note.

The company confirmed to TechCrunch that the note precisely described its plan and the “short time” will last for few weeks. WhatsApp, in its new FAQ page, said that its policy related to inactive users will come into effect after May 15. Accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity according to WhatsApp’s policy for inactive users.

The company faced backlash in India

WhatsApp had to face major backlash last month after suddenly announcing privacy policy changes. As a result, it started the privacy debate in its biggest market, India. An in-app alert said they had to comply with the planned privacy terms until February 8 if wish to continue using the service. Many users thought that WhatsApp would share their messages with parent company Facebook.

In response to the backlash, WhatsApp said its planned privacy update had caused confusion among some of its users. A blog post said: “We’ve heard from so many people how much confusion there is around our recent update. There’s been a lot of misinformation causing concern and we want to help everyone understand our principles and the facts.”

Privacy policy offered with a small banner

Since then, WhatsApp used in-app Status updates to clear the misconception that the update does not share data, user chats, or profile details with Facebook. The new terms apply to the users who use the WhatsApp Business feature. In the coming weeks, WhatsApp will introduce a small, in-app banner for users to re-review the privacy policy changes with a single tap.

The new terms will allow Facebook and WhatsApp to share payment and transaction data. This will help them better target ads as the social giant expands its e-commerce contribution.

Tags

About the author

Jike Eric

Jike Eric

Jike Eric has completed his degree program in Chemical Engineering. Jike covers Technology and Science news on Insider Paper.




Daily Newsletter